Sri Lankan Captain Angelo Mathews nominated for LG People’s Choice Award


Sri Lanka Cricket Captain Angelo Mathews is among the five shortlisted for this year’s LG People’s Choice Award.

Five players from five different countries have been nominated for the fifth LG People’s Choice Award, the only award voted for by the public at the annual LG ICC Awards.

The other four players nominated for the award are England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, India fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sri and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Sri Lanka’s former captain and batsman Kumar Sangakkara won the LG People’s Choice Award two years in a row in 2011 and 2012. Indian’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was last year’s winner.

Voting for the LG People’s Choice Award is now open and will close at midnight (UAE time) on Thursday, 30 October.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favorite player either via or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards.

The Winner of the People’s Choice Award will be announced at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai on 5 November.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: