Former Prime Ministers S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike and Mrs. Sirimawo Bandaranaike will be commemorated today.

A ceremony has been organised to mark the 55th death anniversary of former Prime Minister S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike, today at the Bandaranaike Samadhi at Horagolla, Nittambuwa. Late Sirimavo Bandaranaike, the first woman prime minister of the world will also be commemorated at the ceremony. S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike was the fourth Prime Minister of independent Ceylon. He came to power in April 1956 and … [Read more...]