Shashindra takes oaths as Uva CM


The victorious United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) leader of the Uva Province took oaths as Chief Minister of the province this morning before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat. In the Uva Provincial Council election held on September 20, he polled over 96,000 votes in the Monaragala District.
This is the second time Mr Shashindra Rajapaksa was elected Chief Minister in Uva. He held the post until the dissolution of the Provincial Council three months ago paving way for fresh elections. In the election, the UPFA won 19 seats in the 34-member Uva Provincial Council.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: